Nikos Platyrachos


Nikos was born in Athens in 1965. Having studied piano and advanced music theory at the National Conservatory of Athens, he pursued composition studies at the music academies of Hannover and Cologne with Hans Werner Henze, as well as postgraduate studies at the Studio for Electronic Music in Cologne.

He has composed soundtracks for over 25 Greek and European films for the big screen and has been awarded several prizes in both Greek and international festivals (Trossingen Film Festival, Filmmusictage95-Bonn, Thessaloniki International Film Festival). His music for the cinema has been performed by renowned orchestras such as the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Czech Symphony Orchestra, the ERT National Symphony Orchestra and others.

Nikos also composes music for the theatre as well as various works for orchestra and smaller ensembles, which have been performed in Greece and several European cities. Amongst other places, his music has been played at the Odeon of Herodes Atticus and Megaron-The Athens Concert Hall by the Orchestra of Colours, the Italian “Divertimento Ensemble”, the National Symphony Orchestra, the ERT Contemporary Music Orchestra and the Camerata.

He has also created commercial music by writing the background for over 120 commercial films, radio and television spots in Greece and abroad.




Copyright Nikos Platyrachos.
2019 ©. All rights reserved.

Designed by DOC TV Specials & Libertad UK

Terms of Use